Ward 5

Andrew R. Frounfelker is the Fifth Ward City Councilmember for the City of Jackson. He currently is serving a fourth term and was elected to office in November 2005 and re-elected in November 2009, 2013 and 2017. He has previously served as Vice Mayor from 2007-2009 and 2011-2013.

Frounfelker serves as trustee of Ella Sharp Park and the City Retirement Pension Board, is a member of the City Local Development Finance Authority and City Parks and Recreation board and member of the Jackson County Economic Development Corporation and Land Bank Authority. He also serves on several ad-hoc committees and groups.

In addition to being a member of the City Council, he is employed by Consumers Energy Company where he is the Supervisor of Investment Recovery, and he is responsible for the disposition of the company’s unwanted assets. Before joining Consumers Energy, he was employed by Eaton Corporation-Aeroquip Division, where he was responsible for material coordination and production supervision of the company’s hydraulic hose fittings.

Frounfelker graduated from Lumen Christi Catholic High School, has a Bachelor of Science degree in Packaging Engineering from Michigan State University and a Master degree in Business Administration from Spring Arbor University.

He actively volunteers with the United Way of Jackson County and Partnership Park Downtown Neighborhood Association. Frounfelker is a member of the Jackson County NAACP, Fraternal Order of Police and a life member of the Michigan State University Alumni Association.

Frounfelker is a native to Jackson and is dedicated to the betterment of his community and the vigorous servicing of the citizens of the Fifth Ward, City and County of Jackson.

Ward 5 is home to Jackson’s historical downtown area and features many local businesses, restaurants, and historical buildings. It also features Partnership Park, an organization dedicated to rebuilding and strengthening the residential and business community in the area.

Ward 5 contains the Jackson District Library, the Jackson Police and Fire Departments, as well as Jackson’s City Hall. In 2003, CMS Energy moved into its new headquarters, located east of Francis Street.