MLK Corridor Improvement Authority

MLK Graphic (1)

About the MLK Corridor Improvement Authority 

A Jackson neighborhood is set to see big improvements in the coming years. At its Oct. 27, 2020 meeting, the Jackson City Council voted unanimously to officially create the MLK Corridor Improvement Authority. 

The main goal of the corridor improvement authority is to promote the redevelopment of the MLK Drive and Prospect Street commercial corridors. A portion of tax dollars from the authority district will be used to revitalize the area. A nine member Board of Directors is assembled to oversee the use of these tax dollars and allocate funds for projects. Proposed improvements are likely to include more commercial businesses, mixed use developments, housing, landscaping, infrastructure and pedestrian access. 

Boundaries of the improvement authority are S. Martin Luther King Jr. Drive from Downtown Jackson to the City Limits at W. South Street and Prospect Street in its entirety from Fourth Street to Cooper Street. Commercial properties along the MLK Equality Trail, Jackson’s main pedestrian trail, are also included in the improvement authority. 


The MLK Corridor Improvement Authority Board of Directors meetings are generally held the fourth Thursday of every month at 5:30 p.m. unless otherwise noted. 

Meetings are held in the 10th Floor Conference Room of Jackson City Hall, 161 W. Michigan Ave. Jackson, MI 49201. 

The latest meeting information is posted on the City Meeting and Event CalendarFuture meeting agendas will be posted in the Agenda and Minutes Center. 

Serve on the MLK Corridor Improvement Authority 

An application to serve on the MLK Corridor Improvement Authority Board of Directors is available through the City website. 

Contact Us

  1. MLK Corridor Improvement Authority 



    Jackson City Hall 

    161 W. Michigan Ave. 

    Jackson, MI 49201 

    Staff Directory

    Board of Directors

    • Anthony Parker (Chair)
    • Daniel Mahoney (Vice Chair) 
    • Diane Washington (Secretary) 
    • Mindy Bradish-Orta
    • Lee Hampton
    • James Johnson
    • Philicia Richmond 
    • City Councilmember Arlene Robinson
    • Mayor Derek Dobies
    • Chief Equity Officer John Willis